View Single Post
  #24   Report Post  
Posted to alt.home.repair
external usenet poster

Default Does anyone know about aluminum wiring for the electrical systems.

On Saturday, March 18, 2017 at 4:55:38 PM UTC-4, wrote:
On Sat, 18 Mar 2017 12:32:47 -0700 (PDT), John G
wrote:

I have had aluminum wire feeding my free-standing range for over 25 years with no problems, but now I am concerned that it still could be a problem if it is connected to a copper screw at the breaker box or the outlet behind the stove.

Could this cause a fire or should I have the wire replaced with copper wire?

The wire has no visible markings of what size it is but I would guess #6 wire.

The breaker box and stove outlet have been there since day one. I am not an electrician and could use an opinion.

Thank you Tina

(My concern came from some new reports on TV about home fires.)

If the terminals on the circuit breaker and the stove are rated for aluminum wire you should be okay as long as all connections are tight. Loose connections cause arcing which generates heat and sparks.

The circuit breaker should have a label on it with CUAL or ALCU or something similar. The stove wiring diagram or a label at the power connection should indicate the same thing.

If the stove is not rated for aluminum wire, you can install a surface mount range receptacle on the wire, and mount it on the wall very low. Then connect a range cord to the stove and plug that into the range receptacle. Make sure that the range receptacle is rated for aluminum wire (They usually are). Range receptacles and cords come in 3 wire and 4 wire versions. Four wire is preferred, but if you only have a three wire cable coming out of the wall, go with a 3 wire range receptacle and cord.

The circuit breaker can be replaced with one rated for copper and aluminum.

John Grabowski
https://www.MrElectrician.TV

The range WILL already have an outlet for the stove to plug into.