View Single Post
  #9   Report Post  
Posted to sci.electronics.repair
external usenet poster

Default RCA P60928 convergence

On Thursday, November 24, 2016 at 9:42:06 PM UTC-5, wrote:
On Monday, November 14, 2016 at 10:38:24 AM UTC-5, wrote:
Looking for how to get into the menu for fine adjustment of convergence on a rca P60908. Thank Ted

Also as far as experience I am a arcade game tech I have done convergence and tube swaps on many monitors and know enough to mark the rings before I start. I do not have much experience with projections and the electronic adjustment. I would start by making a single adjustment before going crazy. I don't know what the adjustment screen looks like at all. If there are values on screen I would wright them down before changing anything. I am not looking to screw anything up that's why I am here getting advice from you guys. Thanks Ted

You still haven't described the error or indicated why there is an error. This is paramount. The convergence amps are like transconductance amps and their gain is set by precision resistors. Actually not even precision, but they are when you go to replace them.

There are no values to write down in the convergence. The lines move IF the amps are working. If they are not working the values change but you don't see it. That means that later, unless you literally took a picture of the error you could fix the amp and not know it is fixed. I **** to not.

On the NAP sets they gave the customer the access to do multipoint convergence and that can play hell on doing the actual troubleshooting. Luckily the included a "factory reset". There is no such thing on the PCA. Even if you unplug it the data are changed. Some sets have values and have normal old style controls but they're digital, like horizontal linearity, vertical bow and all that, and many of them do have a value (number) associated with each parameter. No so with the RCA, it is an advanced point to point system.