View Single Post
  #8   Report Post  
Posted to sci.electronics.repair
external usenet poster

Default HITACHI V-353F OSCILLOSCOPE V-353-F

"Both traces are present, position works, sweep varies
etc. "

Excellent, now we can go from there. I am not an expert in scopes but I am, or at least was an expert troubleshooter.

Each trace is controlled by the proper position control without abnormal interaction between the two. It shows both traces simultaneously in chop or alternate. If this is all true that means the output and the channel switching circuits are working properly.

One question, relevant but not of prime importance, does you friend always use the X10 probe ? ALWAYS use the X10 probe unless you need the gain afforded by the X1 probe. this protects the front end of the scope and lowers circuit loading during testing. Since he cannot fix it himself he might not know this. Ask and tell when you get the chance. There is a chance that he actually caused the failure if the one channel in the past and then this channel now if he does not use the X10 probe(s).

Regardless we still have a direction. there is a slight difference though, if he used the X10 all the time we are looking for a fault that just happened, if he uses the X1 we might be looking at something else. But that does not stop us in our tracks.

You are going to need, at minimum a signal generator or a working scope to fix this. If DC voltages would reveal the problem most likely the trace would be off the screen on affected channel(s). Since it is not we are dealing with a dynamic situation, not a static one.