View Single Post
  #3   Report Post  
Posted to sci.electronics.repair
external usenet poster

Default Sony SVO-5800 Jamming (Left Shuttle and Back Tension Arm BlockEach Other)

On Saturday, April 14, 2012 3:37:14 PM UTC-4, wrote:
On Apr 14, 10:04*am, Mike S wrote:
Hi,
I'm a total beginner, but I have a pretty simple VCR issue that doesn't appear to be covered in Sam Goldwasser's VCR FAQ (http://www.repairfaq.org/sam/vcrfaq.htm) or David T. Ronan's Practical VCR Repair, based on the skimming I've done.

When I'm stopping or ejecting a tape, my back tension regulator takes too long to move out of the way, and the left shuttle assembly gets blocked on it - and pins it in place - on its way back to the front of the VCR. *Basically, the two parts end up jamming each other, so neither can move, and it screws up the timing of the two shuttles as well as the gears underneath slip teeth.

What exactly is the mechanism that is supposed to make the back tension arm retract away from the full erase head and toward the tape door? *Is it supposed to sit passively while the left shuttle assembly pushes it back toward the front, or is the VCR supposed to apply power to explicitly move it out of the way? *If the VCR is meant to explicitly apply power, what controls the timing of this?

I half-expected this issue to be a common cause of jams and thoroughly covered by VCR repair resources, since the back tension arm literally crosses the path of the left shuttle assembly, but I haven't found anything about it yet. *I can't imagine I'm the only person in the world who has ever had this happen to them.